The Astronomy group consists of three faculty members, four graduate students, a teaching laboratory manager and a number undergraduate students.


  • Caroline Simpson, Associate Professor: evolution of star formation in dwarf galaxies
  • Walter Van Hamme, Professor: close binary stars, stellar structures and evolution
  • Jim R. Webb, Professor: quasars, active galactic nuclei, blazars

Astronomy Laboratory Manager

  • Tigran Abrahamyan