Condensed Matter Physics

The Condensed Matter Physics group consists of five faculty and a number of post-doctoral researchers and students engaged in theoretical and experimental investigations of a variety of topics. The experimental group focuses on surface materials and thin films, nano-materials such as carbon nanotubes and semiconductors such as Gallium Arsenide, electron, ion and molecules transport in novel nanomaterials and nanostructures/devices, Coherent spectroscopy of semiconductor nanostructures (especially two dimensional materials). The theoretical group studies magnetic and electronic structural properties of materials such as transition metal compounds, surfaces and metal-semiconductor interfaces. The group employs a variety of facilities at FIU and at research laboratories around the world.