The Biophysics group consists of three faculty members, two in theoretical and computational biophysics, and one in experimental biophysics, and a number of graduate and undergraduate students.


  • Richard Bone, Professor: experimental biophysics, physics of the eye and visual systems
  • Prem Chapagain, Associate Professor: theoretical and computational biophysics, computational investigation of protein folding, protein engineering and aggregation, mathematical modeling of the propagation of infectious diseases
  • Bernard S. Gerstman, Professor: theoretical and computational biophysics, non-linear dynamics and complexity of protein folding, protein aggregation, and laser effects on biological tissue and material science.
  • Jin He, Assistant Professor: Single molecule (cellular) biophysics and nanobiotechnology.